A Most Proper Introduction …

I’m Amy Pfaff . I’m from North Carolina and I write Regency romances.  Why pick a genre that is all about the social rules? I think because it represents a simpler way of life to me and a challenge to get the details right.  I love research.  I am also insane because everyone knows that the readers of Regencies are the toughest critics when it comes to getting the details right.

I’ve always written something: poetry, music, and stories.  I love stories. I’m also an avid reader. I can’t imagine my life without books. They are like old friends that I revisit again and again.

So to the questions.

1)    What was the first romance novel you ever read? Tough question right out of the box. I read a lot of Mary Stewart’s mysteries when I was younger. Grace Livingston Hill as well. The one that I remember the most though is Kathleen Woodiwiss’ Flame and the Flower. Let’s just say I was the most popular girl in middle school study hall because of that book.

2)    Your House is on fire – which five romance novels do you grab on your way out?  Let’s get our priorities straight: the Nook, the kindle and the Mac. These have all my favorites on them. If I had to grab five faves, it would probably be: The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn; The Secret by Julie Garwood;, To Tame a Highland Warrior by Karen Marie Moning; Seduced by Midnight by Jacquie D’Alessandro; and Talk Me Down by Victoria Dahl. A nice variety until I could rebuild my library.

3)    What is your secret passion? Mr. Darcy. Seriously Who couldn’t love Colin Firth? I’m passionate about lots of things: music, books, writing and cooking. I love researching history and all the quirky things that can be discovered with research.

4)    Why do you write romance? I write it because I can’t imagine not including romance in a story. It brings a level of emotions to a story that strengthen it and pull me in. It holds my interest as a reader and makes me feel good. I hope my writing can return that feeling for readers.

5)    Is there anything in your book that comes from personal experience? In my current story, An Unexpected Wish, I took some of the bickering between the sisters from my own experience with my sisters when we were younger. They will probably kill me for this, but they are my sisters and will eventually forgive me.  Love you guys!

6)    What is your favorite kind of tea, and how do you drink it? Depends on the season. In summer I like iced tea sweet (I’m very southern). In winter, I drink good black tea that a friend sends me called Yorkshire Gold. It’s very strong. I drink it with sweetener and milk (gasp). After lunch calls for an herbal tea. My favorite is Wild Orange from Tazo. It’s also one of the few available at the office of my day job.  🙂

Now that you’ve gotten to know me, tell me about you? What’s your favorite tea to sip while reading your favorite romance novel? Don’t forget to include your favorite novel as well.  I’m always looking for a new read.
— Amy

22 thoughts on “A Most Proper Introduction …

  1. I just love that your first-remembered romance was also a Kathleen Woodiwiss novel but what just tickles me pink is that we would both save Victoria Dahl’s “Talk Me Down” from a burning building. (PS: Thanks for the recommendation on the Yorkshire Gold tea. It’s not one I’ve ever tried.)

  2. I am all about iced coffee in the summer, but now that Labor Day’s over, I want hot tea each morning. I’m going to track down that Yorkshire Gold! My favorite now is Constant Comment, love the spice and orange for fall.

    I’d grab my Kindle too, but also every Mary Balogh I could lay my hands on (they are scattered about the house). 🙂

  3. Amy,
    I love that you would pick to save JQ’s Viscount Who Loved Me-it’s one of my favorites too! 🙂

    And I’m with you-I’d definitely grab my Kindle too, though most of my books are still paperbacks. I’ve only recently started the transition to e.

    I’ve never read Mary Balogh. Sounds like I need to start!

  4. I drink tea all day – have never had a cup of coffee in my life. Daily, I have green tea, licorice tea, and ginger tea.
    I am a big fan of Mary Balogh, Debra Raleigh, Deb Marlowe, Sabrina Jeffries, Louise Allen, Victoria Alexander, etc., etc., etc. My list goes on forever.

  5. Hi Amy, it’s a delight to meet you. Congrats on the new blog. As I told Jennelle, Woodiwiss was my beginning but then there was also my second first romance – CAPTIVE BRIDE by Johanna Lindsey. I became an ardent fan of both wonderful authors and have remained true to both. My poor copy of Shanna is beginning to see the end of its lifespan. I think I’d have to die in the fire trying to grab all my favorites. : )

    • Amy, your Lindsey copies outlived mine. I had already replaced mine with new versions because I’d worn the others out. I’m in the process of switching to digital. It’s not quite the same, but I can’t keep going through paper this way. 🙂

      • Jennelle, I am so OCD about my books. I still have my original THE FLAME AND THE FLOWER (Woodiwiss) as well as every other book I’ve ever read (paperback & hardback) – all my romances for sure! That’s why I say I’d have to die in the fire – I don’t think I can narrow it to 5 faves. Now if you asked what are your 5 faves from say the last two months – maybe! ; )

  6. Well, Amy, didn’t know you were a Southern girl! My hubby is from Alabama and grew up on sweet tea (note, they don’t say “sweetened”). His mom put it in a pitcher with, yuk, two full cups of sugar. Over the years I’ve weaned him from the sugar, but we can’t sit down to dinner without making a pot of fresh tea. And it can’t be saved because he has to have it fresh. And since he grew up on Lipton orange pecoe, that’s all we can have. Southerners are very picky about their tea — which in the South usually means iced!

  7. Hi Amy!!! (waving)

    It’s been great getting to know you better today. Like Jennelle, I’m pleased to see another Kathleen Woodiwiss fan! And you’ve got quite a varied book collection to run out of the house with. Very cool! I’m so glad to be a part of this blog with you!!!

    As for Darcy, my opinion varies too. Colin Firth embodies the pent up emotion that cannot be expressed due to the times. Matthew MacFayden defies convention slightly by opening himself up to Elizabeth with a passion I think we all are attracted to. If Colin Firth’s version had allowed for that… hot flash!!!

Leave a Reply

