Meet the Shortest Member of Teatime Romance

“You gotta be bad, you gotta be bold
You gotta be wiser, you gotta be hard
You gotta be tough, you gotta be stronger
You gotta be cool, you gotta be calm
You gotta stay together
All I know, all I know, love will save the day”

~”You Gotta Be” by Des’ree

Hi Everyone! Thank you for joining us all here at Teatime Romance and for the welcome and support you’ve given us thus far. When Erica approached me to join a new blog she was forming about two months ago, I jumped at the chance to get involved. The romance community is very supportive and inclusive, and a group of six authors in various stages on the path to publication  coming together to connect with  members of the romance community and support each other seemed very much in that spirit.

I am currently working on my very first contemporary romance manuscript. The premise is four best friends who meet in college who live in New York City and go through the ups and downs of life and falling in love together. My first book stars Liz Shepherd who is just starting out in her legal career, and Matt Trudeau, who works at the same firm she does. The characters and ideas had been running around in my brain for years, and I realized it was finally time to bite the bullet, put it down on paper, and see where it takes me.

And as I’m only 4’8” I think it’s safe to say I’m the shortest one of the six of us! 😉

Now on to the Six Questions!

So why do you write romance?

I write romance because the cardinal rule of writing is write what you enjoy reading for pleasure. I love reading romance and have ever since I started reading them in high school (see Question 2 for more details). The journey of the hero and heroine on their journey to happy ever after was something that appealed to me, and that hasn’t changed. It reaffirms my faith that love is important, and a relationship based on mutual love, passion, trust, understanding, and respect is possible and worth waiting and fighting for.  In my opinion, real life can be hard and stressful enough, and there’s nothing better than escaping in a romance where you know, no matter the obstacles, come hell or high water, love conquers all. And at the end of the day, I am a sap who loves romantic comedies and believes in the true love and happily ever after of it all.

What was the first romance novel you ever read?

I first started reading romance my freshman year of high school. I was browsing the shelves of a local indie bookstore and walked by the romance section. Normally I would just keep going but something made me stop and check out the titles. I happened across Nora’s MacGregor Brides and MacGreogr  Grooms. It  caught my eye, and I looked at back cover and checked out the blurb. Something about the idea of a larger than life Scottish patriarch playing matchmaker for his resistant grandkids was irresistible. I started reading, got hooked, and haven’t looked back since! Not a surprise, since it was a Nora I picked up after all. I say if you’re going to start, you might as well start with one of the best, right?

Your house is on fire. Which five romance novels do you grab on your way out?

Such a hard question!! My first instinct is to say all of them, or at least the ones I’m lucky enough to have autographed copies of but if I’m forced to choose (in no particular order):

  • Tessa Dare’s A Week To Be Wicked (such an amazing book, hands down one of the best I’ve read in 2012. I loved how she expertly balanced the humor with the emotional depth of Colin and Minerva’s journey to true love and HEA.) But really I’d include her entire Spindle Cove series, if not backlist!

A Week To Be Wicked

  • Nora Roberts’s The MacGregor Grooms (obvious sentimental reasons. Also because Naomi and Ian are one of my favorite romance couples ever!)

MacGregor Grooms

  • Maya Rodale’s The Rogue and the Rival (how many romances actually take place at a convent? And Maya did a great job redeeming the hero Phillip  who was a total villain in the previous book The Heir and the Spare)

Rogue

  • Katharine Ashe’s In the Arms of a Marquess (absolutely loved the hero Ben and heroine Tavy’s sense of adventure and taste for the exotic) Her current Falcon Club series is great.

Marquess

  • Julie James’ US Attorneys/FBI series (Something About You, A Lot Like Love, and About That Night) I know I know technically cheating but the books are so interconnected that they feel like one big book with lots of sexy heroes (including one nicknamed the Twitter Terrorist) and heroines who are strong smart and sassy-exactly the ones you’d have as girlfriends in real life and have drinks with. That’s my story and I’m sticking with it!

About That Night
Honorable mentions to Julia Quinn’s The Viscount Who Loved Me (the Pall Mall scene is classic, as well as the Mallet of Death. And extra special shout-out to Newton the corgi!), Laura Lee Guhrke’s Secret Desires of a Gentleman and With Seduction in Mind and Judith McNaught’s Paradise and Something Wonderful.

What is your secret passion?

If I told you what it was it wouldn’t be secret anymore would it? Honestly, most of the time I think my writing and passion for romance is a secret passion. Despite how empowering romance is, and how financially successful the genre is, it’s still subject to snark and dismissive attitudes by the media and those who’ve never picked up a romance novel. But I’ve gradually come out of the closet bit by bit and feel so lucky to be embraced with such kindness and support. And I no longer try to hide my romance novel covers when I’m reading on the train, and I speak up when someone mocks my reading material!

Other than that, though I don’t know how secret it is, I am a huge fan of Austen, Austen adaptations, and period dramas in general. My current obsession is the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. If you haven’t heard of it, go watch it now! My weeks now revolve around how many days until the next episode posts. 😉

Is there anything in your book that comes from personal experience?

I’m still working on the first draft so we’ll see how much of me ends up in the book. But I think we all put aspects of ourselves in each of our books. I will say that there is a moment in Liz’s job interview that actually happened to me. I’ll let y’all guess which one that is!

What is your favorite kind of tea, and how do you drink it?

Most often the tea I drink is peach flavored and has a Snapple label on the cover. Sorry, I rarely if ever brew and drink hot tea. Just not a habit I picked up and I try to avoid caffeine as much as possible. Please don’t kick me out and ask me to leave, lol

Since it was so hard for me to pick 5 picks to rescue from a fire, let me throw the question to you, dear readers. What five books would you grab on your way out the door to escape the fire?

24 thoughts on “Meet the Shortest Member of Teatime Romance

  1. Welcome Lisa! I think I come in second at 5’2 3/4. the 3/4 counts. Your first manuscript is a huge accomplishment. Keep on going and make sure you celebrate each step of the way. I’ve been celebrating a lot. LOL.

    I also love anything Austen. The Lizzy Bennett Diaries are fabulous. I look forward to each episode. That girl is so talented. What’s your favorite Austen movie? Mine is probably Sense & Sensibility — the new BBC version.

    We are so glad to have you here! — Amy

    • Yes the 3/4 definitely counts Amy, lol. And thanks for your kind and encouraging words about my first ms.

      Isn’t the LBD fabulous?? In case any of you lovely bloggers don’t know, Kate Noble, who writes historical romances, is actually a staff writer for the series! How cool is that? My favorite Austen adaptation for P&P is hands down the 95 BBC version. No contest. (At least for me). For Emma, I like the Jeremy Northam/Gwyneth Paltrow and Romula Garai/Jonny Lee Miller versions, and for Sense and Sensibility, it’s gotta be the one with Emma Thompson, Hugh Grant, Kate Winslet and Alan Rickman!

  2. Welcome, Lisa. I’m probably the only girl here who doesn’t have an obsession with Austen (I feel so ashamed). I’m also 5’10”, which may make me close to the tallest, though I’m not sure. Very happy to have you on board. Love your burning building choices.

    • Thanks Jenelle! If you haven’t read them already, hope I gave some recommendations of great books and authors to try out! 🙂

      No need to feel ashamed, I’m sure there are plenty of awesome things you’re interested in that I’m not, lol. I’ve been obsessed with P&P/Austen ever since I saw the BBC mini-series with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. ::Le Sigh::

  3. Hi Lisa! You may be short in stature but you more than make up for it in talent and determination. Add to that a zest for life and smile that lights up a room and you have a winning combination!

    Only five books? Seriously? How about five boxes of books? I could probably manage that. Maybe. Thinking I need to load more books on my Nook. Then I could just grab that! 😉 I do know that I would definitely grab my all-time favorite comfort read: Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. The others are going to require more thought.

    • Hi PJ! Thanks for coming by and commenting! And for your kind words-that means a lot. I’m blushing! lol Thank you! *smooches* 😀

      I’m with you. It was so incredibly difficult for me to pick five books that I obviously cheated as you can see, lol. I think you may be on the right track of just grabbing the e-reader but the vast majority of my books are still paperbacks so I’d still be giving up way too many books and that won’t do! 😉

  4. Hi, Lisa!!

    I am so happy for you and can’t wait to read your published book one day, my friend!

    Hmmm, okay…five books… Here goes:

    THE VISCOUNT WHO LOVED ME by Julia Quinn
    LONDON’S PERFECT SCOUNDREL by Suzanne Enoch
    IF HIS KISS IS WICKED by Jo Goodman
    SIMPLY IRRESISTIBLE by Jill Shalvis
    ABOUT THAT NIGHT by Julie James

    I have so many more, but I’ll go with those as they are some of my very favorites!

    • Andrea!!! xoxo Thanks so much for visiting and commenting! 🙂

      Your lists and mine are errily similar but at this point that isn’t a surprise to either of us, lol. I love love JQ’s Viscount (the Mallet of Death! Need I say more) and I owe you a huge thank you for introducing me to Jill’s Lucky Harbor series!!! It’s incredibly hard to pick just five isn’t it?

      You have been amazingly kind, encouraging, and supportive as I embark on this writing adventure. Thank you-it means more than I can say. :))) I promise to do my best and not let you down so someday you will be able to read my book!

  5. Lisa, it’s good to meet another Austen lover!!!

    Love your book list. There are many I have stacked in my TBR file. Can’t wait to read them, especially since you recommend them so highly!!!

    I’m glad you’ve chosen to write romance and I’m certainly glad to join you at Teatime Romance!!!!

  6. Woohoo! Wonderful first post, Lisa! First things first, “You Gotta Be” is one of my favorite songs. So empowering!

    I feel for you, I’m vertically challenged as well. Just remember, you are not short, you’re fun sized 😄

    Love this: “real life can be hard and stressful enough, and there’s nothing better than escaping in a romance where you know, no matter the obstacles, come hell or high water, love conquers all.” It’s exactly the reason why I fell for romance novels 🙂 *happy sigh*

    Hmmm, I haven’t read all of the books on your “Your house is on fire. Which five romance novels do you grab on your way out?” list. Adding to the top of my TBR list 😄 hehehe

    And about your Liz, LOL I was going to ask you if that scene came from personal experience. It seemed so very real, and I could feel her emotions rolling right off her. Gah, this calls for hugs *huggles*

    Lisa, enjoyed reading your post very much! ❤

    • Carrie! xoxo Thanks so much for coming by!! It’s so sweet of you. And I’m so glad you liked this post.

      “You Gotta Be” is one of my all time favorite songs too and for exactly the same reason-it’s such a girl power song and I am ALL about the Sisterhood! 😀

      Hope you enjoy the books on my list you haven’t read yet, lol.

      I’ll tell you at some point which parts were real and which parts I made up, lol

  7. Picking 5 books to save would be too hard. Thank goodness I could just grab my Sony. Then again, I would actually need my PC since not all of my digital books are currently on my Sony.

    I would have to include at least one book by Nora, JD Robb (I love Eve & Roarke), Jayne Ann Krentz (but do I go with an actual JAK, a Quick, or a Castle?), Merline Lovelace, and then I would get stuck deciding between Carole Buck, Justine Davis, Marcia Evanick, Jennifer Greene, Lee Magner, etc. But eek, Show No Mercy by Cindy Gerard and Driven by Eve Kenin would definitely need to be saved, too. Best not to think about it and enjoy having all of my keepers.

    I wish you the best of luck with the blog. And am anxiously awaiting to read your book. You deserve all the success in the world, Lisa.

    -Kelly

    • Thank you so much for coming by and commenting Kelly! *hugs* I really appreciate it. You’re the best, and thank you so much for the kind words.

      LOL, I think all of us had a hard time picking 5 books.. I think we would all grab our e-readers and be grateful that so many of the books we love would be on it!

  8. Aw, Lisa, nice to hear more about you; so much love and agreement as to why I love reading romances too. Gotta Be has to be one of my favorite songs, like C said, empowering. 😀

    As for the five … you really had to make it difficult, huh? I have to have Never a Gentleman by Eileen Dreyer with me. That’s probably my most read, worn-out book ever. I pick it up any time, all the time. I love Grace so, so much, and Diccan too. I also have to have my Callie, so Nine Rules To Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean will be on that list. Lucky In Love by Jill Shalvis. Nobody’s Baby But Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips must be put on that list as well. I mean, come on. Bring on the cereal killers. And. And!! How do you pick a Spindle Cove book? SINGULAR. Bah. If I had to pick … I think I’ll be taking Thorne and Kate with me. Or Min and Colin. Maybe Susanna and Bram? IDK. Why are you torturing me??

    • Thanks so much for coming by D! xoxo And thanks so much for sharing what five books you’d rescue from a fire. It’s a lot harder than it seems isn’t it? lol

      I haven’t read Never a Gentleman yet, but it sounds like I should!!

      I hear you on not being able to pick a Spindle Cove book-I’d take all of them. Ok let’s be honest. I’m such a Tessa fangirl I’d grab my entire TD collection on my way out! 😉 lol

  9. Great post, Lisa! Sorry I couldn’t get here earlier! 🙂

    Five books, huh? I’d say… Perfect by Judith McNaught. Lover Eternal by JR Ward. Sweet Liar by Jude Deveraux. Not Quite a Husband by Sherry Thomas. And the Black Hawk by Joanna Bourne.

    But that’s only because you made me keep it to five. 😉

    I loved A Week to Be Wicked too. Such a sweet book. Minerva. She’s like the perfect smart girl heroine.

    • Thanks for coming by Marnee! 🙂 I don’t really read paranormals but have heard great things about JR and her BDB series. Sweet Liar is a great book. Loved Mike and Samantha and how Jude entertwined their story with Maxie’s back in the 30s. And I found Michael’s obsession with Samantha wearing white hilarious, lol.

      YES to AWTBW!!! I think that is part of the reason why I loved the book so much (aside from the amazing writing, lol). I just related to Minerva so much. I was/am also one of those girls who walk and read at the same time. 😉 Maybe someday my Colin will come along!

  10. Sorry, I’m late joining the welcoming – Internet was down since Saturday but I’m back – I missed sooo much! Hi Lisa! You and I have been traveling the blogs together for a while and I’m so excited that you’re here so I can visit with you as well as the other ladies. Congrats. : )

    • Amy,
      Thanks SO much for stopping by even with the technical difficulties you’ve been experiencing. I realy appreciate it. See you around here and the other blogs too! 😀

  11. Pingback: Austen Movie Adaptations | Teatime Romance

  12. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Sex, Baby…… | Teatime Romance

  13. Pingback: Facing My Fear of Science and Math | Teatime Romance

  14. Pingback: How Do You Find New-To-You Authors? | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

