Duty, Honor & Country

I owe an apology to those in the tea room today for arriving late and not posting my blog on time.  Of course, appearances and blog posting time deadlines are more like guidelines anyway.  (Pirate!)  😉

Seriously though, the reason for my late posting is that my compass took me  on a voyage to visit Prince Charming in-training, my second son, who just graduated from Leadership Training.  And what a glorious graduation ceremony it was, complete with green pluming smoke on each side of the parade field entrance as soldiers paraded onto the field amidst simulated gunfire and cannons, and a marching band.

What I realized during the ceremony is that I miss military life.  Revelie, taps and tattoo.  Soldiers in uniform coming to and fro.  Army bases and military history.  Yes, those were great years!  But alas, they are behind my rogue and me.  The good news however, is that we get to relive those memories when we meet old friends or as we celebrate events in our sons’ lives and our son-in-law to be’s life. 

Yes, we come from a long line of military service.  That’s probably what lead me to my tag line of write rogues, rebels, and rakes who serve country with duty and honor.  My grandfather and great uncles served, my father, brother, husband, father-in-law, and now sons serve.  Isn’t there something phenomenal about this kind of sacrifice?

My October 29th book, Duke by Day, Rogue by Night, the first book in my Nelson’s Tea Series, is about first sons who served as mercenaries for Admiral Nelson.  Historically, Nelson was never without his tea and first sons could not serve in the military.  And so I thought how cool it would be if Nelson’s Tea was code for the men he called upon when dangerous situations arose and dirty work had to be done.  Also, to add to the mystery, what if those men were first sons from every walk of life, unsuspected by those around them.  Interesting concept?  I thought so.

Cannon fire, cutlasses, muskets, battle axes, marlinspikes and blunderbuss pistols were the weapons of choice for members of Nelson’s Tea.  Able to weave in and out of the ton without suspicion, they showcased a different kind of skill, covert and expert.  As I watched the men graduating in my son’s Leadership Training parade, I sat proud and contemplative. 

Hmmm…. I think another idea is brewing!!!

What in your past have you revisited that brought back memories and a pride that swelled within you?  And, if you are a writer, what fuels the heart of your stories?

12 thoughts on “Duty, Honor & Country

  1. Thanks so much for this post Kathy! Congrats to you and your son on his incredible accomplishment! I have an incredible amount of respect and admiration for our men and women who protect and defend our country. They put their lives on the line every day to keep me, a stranger, safe. That takes a special kind of selflessness, bravery, and willingness to sacrifice.

    And it has to be said-there is just something about a man in uniform! 😀

    For me, what fuels the heart of my stories? I believe in strong heroines who demand nothing less than being treated with love, dignity, and respect. But what I love most about romance, and why I write romance, is the idea that love is about finding the person who knows you inside and out, and still loves and accepts you at your worst. They bring out the best in you and inspires you every day to be the best version of you you can be.

  2. Thanks for your congrats, Lisa!!! Charming son #2 is an Airborne soldier. He jumps out of planes!!! Ack!!! He’s been called to do this and LOVES it!!!

    I love what inspires you to write romance!!! One of the things I’ve always taught my girls is to expect to be treated with respect. That’s a fabulous MO for our heroines today too. 😉

    By the way, I owe you one, Lisa!!! Thank you for today!!! 😉

  3. Hi R. T.!!!! Thanks for posting today! 😉

    I think the Internet opened up a world of possibilities for writers, especially. Research is more accessible. Video and photographs make writing about places you’ve never been easier then ever before. I try to balance research on the Internet with book research too. But what I love most about the Internet is the social format. Being able to converse like we are here about our passions, the forces which drive us.

    Museums are another vehicle of inspiration for me. We toured the Airborne Museum and my brain exploded with ideas!!! 🙂

  4. I come from a family of military and civil service, too (army, navy, marines, cost guard, firefighter, teacher…you name it, we got it!). Congrats to your son!

    Music has always been an inspiration for me, even when writing historicals. A Linkin Park song actually gave me some insight into my Regency-era heroine, which just goes to show you that styles may change but the emotion behind the music is eternal 🙂

    • Wow! Cora, you say it best! No matter the style or emotion, music is eternal. I think the same can be said for the written word. And isn’t it phenomenal that all of humanity can be touched by one person?

      Sending a special thank you to your family for serving in so many capacities!!! You mention teachers and I realized I’d excluded my own grandparents by not mentioning teachers, powerful influences on our children and children’s children. Great callings come in so many different forms. 😉

      Thank you for posting, Cora!!!

  5. Congrats on your #2 son’s proud achievement and he’s a paratrooper, too! That’s so awesome. My father was an original member of the 82nd Airborne and an original paratrooper. It was these guys who first took that step out of the open door of plane with a loaded pack and weapons to fight in a foreign country with nothing to guide them safely to the ground but the wind and God’s prayer. My father cracked a vertebrae jumping into Normandy on D-Day but kept going as many other ‘Red Devils’ of the 508 PIR did. I grew up as an Army brat with military service all around me. It has inspired me to create heroes and heroines who don’t back down even under great diversity but until now, I hadn’t noticed that I don’t allow them to be military. They may work alongside military or be a specialized agent but they aren’t really men, or women, in uniform. And I adore men in uniform. I wonder why that is?
    May God Bless your son and keep him from harm’s way while carrying him on heroes wings.

    • Amy!!! Thank you for your kind words about my son. We’re so proud of him. 😉

      There is something wonderful about a man in uniform, isn’t there? LOVE it! As to you not writing about men in uniform per se, but writing about men with the same ethics and codes, I think that totally fits. These are the men we know, right? The men we respect and look up to. They’re the ones we were raised with, the ones who showed us what makes a man, a man. So to add those characteristics to our characters is a natural evolution.

      Per my visit: We went to the Airborne Museum at Fort Bragg. It was phenomenal! And there were videos of those first parajumpers during WWII and the Normandy invasion. I wonder if your father was one of them? Did you also know that those men were trained in 45 days and then were shipped out to jump into enemy lines? 45 days of training? That’s it! AMAZING!!!!

      Kudos to you and to all those whose family members served or serve our country!!!

      • You’re so right about our heroes having those characteristics of the men we know, the men in uniform. I hadn’t thought about it that way until now but they don’t have to have a uniform to be that kind of hero, do they?
        I’m so glad you went to the Airborne Museum. It really is awesome. My hubby and I stopped there about a yr after it opened on the way home from SC. I hunted the pictures for my Dad but he wasn’t in any of them. Although, I do believe they’ve added a display of the original companies so he’s probably there now. He enlisted before the war as private, was a 2nd Lt. when he went to England and was a Captain by the time the war ended. He started at the bottom and retired a LtCol in 1967. They did train fast. Their original training place was Ft. Blanding, FL, they boarded ships in NY and sailed first to Ireland, traveled to Scotland then camped in Nottingham England where they did more onsight training, including night drops in before dropping into Normandy in the early hours of June 6, 1944. My Dad spent the rest of the war moving from France into Holland, where they secured bridges (yes, he was part of THE BRIDGE TOO FAR but one bridge over). He was at the Battle of the Bulge and then helped coordinate the freeing of war refugees out of camps and war-torn areas. He’s my greatest hero and at 92, he’s still with us. He’s written a book which is a compilation of fabulous stories told by men of the 508th including Tom Broderick’s who was blinded by a bayonet through the head and had his story told by Tom Brokaw in THE GREATEST GENERATION. My Dad was Broderick’s company commander. It took them two weeks to get Broderick to medical care. Amazing men. I’ve met a lot of these ‘greatest generation’ heroes, most of whom have passed now, but they will always be heroes and inspiration for young men and women, like your son and I hope the rest of us.

  6. Congratulations on your son’s graduation from the course. My husband and I were both in and so is our son. My dad didn’t serve, but my mother’s father did as did husband’s father. In fact, we have US Army in my family back to the Revoluntary War. My first ancestor in this country was a Dutch army officer. It’s a great tradition.

    • Ella, I think that’s amazing and thrilling that you can trace back to the Revolutionary War. The farthest I can go back is my great-great grandfather serving in the Civil War, won’t say which side ‘cuz I’m a loyal southern girl but he did muster out in NC when he met his ‘Indian Princess’ as the family called her. ; )

  7. Pingback: Teatime Romance Blog’s 2012 Year in Review | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

