Celebrating a Very Spooky Halloween with Andris Bear

Andris Bear is sassy, snarky, and perfectly delightful.  Before I moved to North Carolina, Andris welcomed me with open arms (okay, arms holding a bludgeoning tool, but nonetheless welcoming) and helped me with my transition into the community and our Heart of Carolina RWA chapter.  Thus I am so happy to welcome Andris to our tea room.

Andris also has a brilliant giveaway of her new release, Angel Unborn.  It’s book one in the Deadly Sins series and I can say first-hand that is seriously awesome.  Fast-paced, hysterical, and utterly sexy, Angel Unborn is a read you won’t want to put down.

Thank you to all the ladies at Tea Time Romance for having me today!

For those of you lovelies who don’t know me, Autumn is my favorite time of the year. Not only is it pumpkin everything—pie, bread, COFFEE!!!—but it’s spooky time. I love all things dark, sinister, and scare-your-hair-straight terrifying. In fact, the more it scares me, the more I like it.

I should probably talk to a psychiatrist about that.

You know what else I love? Facts. That’s right, facts. Nothing important, mind you—we’re not plotting world domination here. Mostly.  Just fluffy, fun, information for the sake of information, facts.  Because apparently, I have nothing better to do.

So, with Halloween creeping up on us, I thought I’d share some facts about this delightful holiday.

No doubt you’ve heard Halloween called many things—Samhain, All Hallows Eve, The Feast of the Dead, All Hallowtide, All Saints Eve. But Halloween comes from All Hallows Even, and was first celebrated by the Scots in the 16th century.

<-Does anyone really eat these things? Ack! The custom of pranking on Halloween turned ugly in the 1930’s. People took pranks too far and many were hurt. Thus began the tradition of children collecting candy door-to-door.

Do these kids scare you more than…

this?

That’s just me? Oh. Carry on.

Bobbing for apples came about from the roman harvest festival honoring Pamona, the goddess of fruit trees.

But you’ve heard all those facts, haven’t you? I know, I know. I just like to share my vast knowledge of useless tidbits.  On to something a little more challenging…. Answer the questions below for a chance to win my paranormal romance, Angel Unborn!

Can you tell me the correct spelling for this holiday?

  1. Hallow Even
  2. Hallowe’en
  3. Hallow Wen

The official colors of Halloween are orange and black. What do they represent?

 

 

 

 

Why is it bad luck to kill a spider on Halloween? 

 

 

 

What color of cat is considered bad luck in England?

  1. White
  2. Black
  3. All

Do you have any other fun facts about Halloween you’d like to share?  I’m all ears!

Also, for those of you who adore all things pumpkins, here’s a delish recipe I like to make about 30 times from October –December 1st. I’m a little obsessed.

Mini Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients:
2 tubes of refrigerated crescent rolls
1/2 block of cream cheese (4 ounces)
1 cup of canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
2 Tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice
7 Tablespoons of granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon of ground cinnamon

Directions:
Combine cream cheese, canned pumpkin, 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice, and 3 Tablespoons of sugar.  Beat together until fluffy and creamy to make your pumpkin filling.  Set aside.

Roll each crescent roll out and cut lengthwise in 2.  Drop a tablespoon of pumpkin pie filling on each crescent.  Spread the filling about half way down the cut crescent.  Roll up each crescent starting from the thick end to the thin end.  They will be a little messy, but that is just fine!

Mix together 4 Tablespoons sugar, 1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice, and 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon.  Roll each filled crescent in your sugar mixture.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes, or until golden in color.

Seriously. So good. My kids tore through these in a couple of days.

Comment below for a chance to win an e-book copy of Angel Unborn.

Hell has literally come to Earth for one mortal and what’s worse, she is expected to leave behind all hope for a family of her own to stand in defense of humanity against the darkest forces of Hell. But when Satan offers her the normal life she covets, Joey must decide if the price of mankind’s salvation is worth her own damnation.
Strong-willed Joey Benton is the half-mortal child of an angel with heavenly powers. She has no knowledge of her heritage or the power running through her veins until she meets a handsome stranger who forces her to question her life and the world around her. And she quickly becomes a key player in a battle that will define a victory for Heaven or Hell.
Ursus, a sexy Archangel, doesn’t want the responsibility of another charge, especially when Joey is so defiant. Protecting her from Hell might very well be the biggest challenge of his immortal life. But when his feelings for Joey get in the way of his duty, it’s a challenge he refuses to lose.

14 thoughts on “Celebrating a Very Spooky Halloween with Andris Bear

  1. So happy to have you here, Andris. Welcome! I can’t wait to try this recipe (MrMr LOVES pumpkin pie) and just as much I can’t wait to read the book. We’ll let another reader win the ecopy as I write regularly for this blog but wow. I love books where we see other people’s take on angels and heaven and hell. It sounds wonderful! (PS: Don’t worry about the psychiatrist. We at Teatime serve as our own support group. You’re welcome to join us any time. Have some tea. Pumpkin scones are on the buffet.)

    • Thank you, Jennelle! I’m happy to be here! Did you say pumpkin scones? Excuse me just one minute. ;} Try that recipe–my kids leave nothing behind when I make them. Good stuff! And so easy!

  2. Welcome to Teatime Romance Andris! 🙂 It’s lovely to have you here. The recipe sounds yummy and relatively easy so I may even be able to attempt it, lol.

    Thank you also for sharing all those fascinating tidbits of Halloween trivia! I always enjoy your daily fun facts on Twitter.

    Best of luck with your release Angel Unborn! *Hugs*

    • Hi, Lisa! Thank you for allowing me to play with you ladies. 🙂 The recipe is super easy–I don’t make anything that isn’t because I’m really not all that good in the kitchen. It’s frightening, really. Glad you like the fun facts–I love searching out new ones each morning!

  3. Angel Unborn is a fast paced, fun read. Joey is snarky as hell and not as tough as she pretends and Ursus. *Sigh* Well, he is a kick-ass angel with the body of a god. But you were talking about Hallow weenie…I mean, Hallow Even. Right? Maybe I need a pumpkin spiced latta from Starbucks? Or a pumpkin martini. Mmm. So good. Voda, Godiva’s white chocolate liqueur, a dash of cinnamon, and a dash of pumpkin spice–shaken. Not stirred. lol!

  4. Hi Andris, welcome to Teatime! That pumpkin pie recipe looks almost as good as your book. I may just have to try both 🙂 For the record, I am a terrible speller, love all cats, and have no idea what the orange and black stand for, lol. But I do love candy corn!

  5. Pingback: Teatime Romance Blog’s 2012 Year in Review | Teatime Romance

  6. Pingback: To Bring Light to the Darkness | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

