Debut Author Susana Ellis and Treasuring Theresa

My good friend Susana Ellis joins us in honor of her debut novella Treasuring Theresa, available today!

At the betrothal ball of the man she had expected to marry herself, Lady Theresa latches on to the most dashing gentleman present, hoping to divert attention from her own humiliation. That gentleman happens to be her father’s distant cousin and heir, Damian Ashby, a useless London fribble in her opinion. He is not favorably impressed with her either.treasuringtheresa_1.75

But when her father becomes mortally ill and Damian is obligated to spend time with her at the Earl’s country estate, the two of them unexpectedly find admirable qualities in each other and discover a mutual attraction.

But can a London swell and a country lady ever make their diverse lives and interests work together?

Ready for more? Here’s Susana with Teatime’s Six Signature Questions:

What was the first romance novel you ever read?

Oh dear, this is going to date me. But it was Dear Doctor Marcus, a Harlequin by Barbara Perkins. I think I was in junior high school at the time. I read it many, many times. And then I bought every Harlequin I could get my hands on, until my bookshelves were overflowing!

Your house is on fire—which five romance novels do you grab on your way out?

Gosh, I would grab my Kindle, of course. Why limit myself to five? But if I have to choose, I’d choose Outlander, of course, and grab as many as I could of Mary Balogh’s and Georgette Heyer’s books.

What is your secret passion?

I’m not sure how secret it is, but I’m passionate about all things Regency. I’m having a Regency ball gown made by a costume designer in England to wear for the Romantic Times convention in Kansas City in May. I also bought Regency-era shoes to match, and had my author photo taken with a ringlets hairpiece. When I traveled to England last year, I made sure to visit as many places mentioned in my favorite Regency novels as I possibly could. Too bad the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens no longer exist—I really wish I could better visualize what it looked like back then!

Why do you write romance?

I remember when I first read Dear Doctor Marcus how marvelous it felt when Carolyn first realizes that Marcus returned her feelings. Sort of a tingly feeling inside? I read over that passage over and over again. And then I was addicted. I wanted to see other couples come to that point and experience their happiness vicariously.

After reading so many of them, I became more and more convinced that I could write them too. The stories have always been there—I just had to put them down on paper (or the computer screen).

Is there anything in your story that comes from personal experience?

Hmm…I was about to say no, because I am a born-and-raised Ohio farm girl who now lives in the city, but actually, that’s not strictly true. Treasuring Theresa is about an earl’s daughter born and raised in the country, who believes the city is full of useless snobs, and a viscount, one of the top Corinthians in London, who thinks people in the country are boring beyond belief. Needless to say, they both discover that their views are misguided. So there actually is something of my life in the story!

What is your favorite kind of tea and how do you drink it?

Uh-oh. I don’t really drink tea. Does that disqualify me from this blog? My mother loves chai tea, though. I am not a coffee addict either, although I do enjoy my cup of café français every morning.

A former teacher, Susana is finally living her dream of being a full-time writer. She loves all genres of romance, but historical—Regency Susana Ellisin particular—is her favorite. There’s just something about dashing heroes and spunky heroines waltzing in ballrooms and driving through Hyde Park that appeals to her imagination. In real life, Susana is a lifelong resident of northwest Ohio, although she has lived in Ecuador and studied in Spain, France and Mexico. More recently, she was able to travel around England and visit many of the places she’s read about for years, and it was awesome! She is a member of the Maumee Valley chapter of Romance Writers of America.

Win a $20 Amazon Gift Card!

To celebrate the release of Treasuring Theresa, Susana is hosting a series of contests on her website  for the month of January. All you have to do is answer a question about the Regency period and/or tweet about the contest and your name will be entered for the next drawing. Winners will be chosen on January 9, 16, 23, and 31.

 

Susana’s Parlour (blog for readers of historical romance): http://susanaellisauthor.wordpress.com

Susana’s Morning Room (blog for readers of all sub-genres of romance): http://susanaauthor.wordpress.com

Facebook: susana.ellis.5

Twitter: @susanaauthor

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/susanaauthor

 

Treasuring Theresa

SBN: 9781419944093

Available January 3, 2013 on Ellora’s Cave, January 10-24 at other e-book retailers.

 

5 thoughts on “Debut Author Susana Ellis and Treasuring Theresa

  1. Welcome to Teatime Susana! Congrats on the release of your debut novella! How exciting. The premise sounds really great. I love stories where the hero and heroine spend time together and get to know and understand each other on a deeper level, and letting their preconcieved notions of each other slip away.

  2. Hi, Susan. I’ll echo Lisa’s welcome and congratulations. I love seeing this kind of journey in a hero and heroine and can’t wait to read your debut. Chai is a perfectly acceptable alternative to straight tea so you’ll fit in just fine. 🙂

  3. Thanks Lisa and Jennelle! Actually, my mother drinks the chai tea! But I promise I’ll drink some when I get back down to Florida later this month!

  4. Oh my goodness!!! While I was on edit deadline, I can’t believe I missed this fabulous interview. Congratulations, Susana!!! Love your storyline and will be heading off to find out what kinds of adventure your country girl and city boy get into. 😉

    May I ask where you ordered your Regency shoes? I’m hoping to make a Regency gown for the RWA conference in July. 😀

Leave a Reply

