Musical Inspiration and Appreciation with Josh Groban

When it comes to music, my tastes are pretty eclectic. I listen to a little bit of everything-pop, opera, classical, country, rock, musicals, etc. The only musical genres that I tend to avoid is rap and heavy metal-just not my cup of tea. But one of my favorite musical artists is Josh Groban.

I still remember when I first discovered Josh. It was when his first album had come out, and my sister let me listen to some of his songs on her CD. I was blown away but how rich, powerful, and resonant his voice is. The lyrics to his songs are poignant and the melodies are gorgeous Here is one of my favorite songs from his debut album, To Where You Are.

Isn’t it beautiful? I find it very inspirational. To me, there is something sweeping and epic about the music, and it always puts me in a good writing mood. Just like there are few authors I autobuy, there are few music artists whom I autobuy when they have a new CD out. Josh is one of them. For me, Josh’s music is consistenly high quality, and I am continually impressed by his vocal abilities. I still find his music rich, powerful, resonant, poignant, and just plain beautiful. He has helped me through many a writing deadline during my college and law school days. I would also play one of his CDs when I had a tough exam to study for. Somehow, it made it easier to buckle down and focus on the material with his music on in the background.

Here is another JG song I love, If I Walk Away, from his latest album Illuminations

What I find impressive about Josh and his music is how much range he has. They encompass a variety of styles and themes-pop, contemporary, classical, operatic. He appeals to a wide and varied audience. His songs deal with love (of course) but also journeys of the self, friendship, loss, hope, new beginnings, etc. For example, with You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up) I find the message of the song very moving-that even at your lowest, someone is still there in your corner, who loves you and will help you pick up the pieces and carry on.

Some of my favorite Josh Groban songs are ones sung in foreign languages. I absolutely adore Gira Con Me and Oceano, and All ‘Improvviso Amore. It almost doesn’t matter what the lyrics mean, the songs are still beautiful.

Listening to his music, it is obvious that Josh has many influences and inspirations for his music, and with all of the traveling he has done, his inspirations have become global. Here is “Weeping” which features Ladysmith Black Mambazzo, a South African all-male acapella singing group. The song deals with the apartheid regime in South Africa, its aftermath, and the country’s continuing journey toward peace, healing, and reconciliation. The song gives me chills every time.

Some other personal favorites are Canto Alla Vita (a duet with The Corrs) For Always with Lara Fabian, Now or Never, and Bells of New York City, and You’re Still You, among others. For me, ultimately, what it comes down to, is that Josh’s music tells a story. The lyrics aren’t meaningless fluff, and speak to me on a deep emotional level.

And let me finally end with You Raise Me Up, which has become a signature song of sorts for him.

His new album, All That Echos comes out next Tuesday, Feb. 5th, and I for one am anxiously waiting for Amazon to drop that CD off on my front door!

Are you familiar with Josh Groban and his music? Do you like listening to music as you write or do other work? What kind of music do you like? Tell me in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Musical Inspiration and Appreciation with Josh Groban

  1. I love Josh Groban. I have all three albums. The Italian stuff just melts me. 🙂 It doesn’t even matter what he’s saying. My favorite is When You Say You Love Me — So Romantic.

    I have very eclectic taste in music: classical, alternative rock, unsigned bands, pop and a smidge of country. Anything goes for me. Love it all.

    Amy

    • When You Say You Love Me is a great song too Amy! 🙂 And I agree-some of the foreign language songs are my favorites. Maybe it’s related to a foreign accent-it’s just so sexy and appealing, lol.

  2. I almost always have music playing. It’s the backdrop to most of my daily tasks. One of my favorite singers, Andrea Bocelli, is on GMA this morning. Preparing for lots of happy sighs.

    Like you, Lisa, I’ve adored Josh Groban since he first burst onto the music scene. As they’re fond of saying on American Idol, he could sing the phone book and I’d be satisfied.

    I’m not into heavy metal but I listen to most everything else. .

    • I really enjoy Andrea Bocelli too, PJ! My favorite is Mille Lune Mille Onde. I love the sweeping melody and it is such an enchanting, romantic song. Even if it’s the song they used in those Barilla pasta commercials, lol.

  3. I don’t think I own any of Josh’s solo CDs, but I agree he has a very nice voice.

    I like to have music on in the background when I’m working on the computer, cleaning the house, or whatever. Music just makes the day better.

  4. Pingback: My Go-To Happy Places on YouTube When Writing Gets Me Down | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

