The Proof Is In The Pudding!

pudding in ramekinThe proof is in the pudding, right? 2013 has already proven to be a very busy year. While working on the sequel to Duke by Day, Rogue by Night, the edits for my first contemporary Lost Treasure, Captive Princess came in. I finished those and sent them in at the beginning of the year and started work on The Rogue’s Prize—again. Then before I knew it, the galley edits for Lost Treasure came in. I got those done and sent those in on time. Now under another deadline, I’m frantically working to get The Rogue’s Prize done by February 15th.

To say my tea pot is simmering on high is not an understatement! Neither is drowning in a cube.

Deadlines (Strawbs album)

Prior to getting published, I’d heard authors talk about deadlines. Having only experienced self-imposed deadlines, I didn’t have a clue what published authors were up against, though I could sympathize. Boy, have times ever changed! Life has gone CRAZY WILD in seven short months since I signed with Crimson Romance.

The big switch? Grappling with making the right choices for me, my family and my career while on deadline.

Here’s my top ten Do’s and Don’ts during deadlines.

Do:

  1. Have a pot of tea brewing. (Soothing)
  2. Cook up a batch of chocolate chip cookies. (Choc-co-late!)
  3. Set up a schedule around work, family, friends and home life. (Take a number.)
  4. Take time to relax with a dram of rum or a glass of port. (Oh, Jack!)
  5. Watch Supernatural or Vampire Diaries. (Hunk alert!)
  6. Listen to audio books while driving to and from work, errands, etc. (Yes!)
  7. Read while walking on treadmill. (Ouch!)
  8. Take a power nap when groggy or take a walk. (Zzzzzzz…)
  9. Turn to friends/critique partners to boost confidence when threatened with the urge to “Arrrr!” (Put the cutlass down slowly and back away…)
  10. Review ‘do’ list. (Again? Oh yes!)

Don’t:

  1. Cry. (Whiners never win.)
  2. Eat junk or gorge on sweets. (Fat chance!)
  3. Get drunk. (Where’s the rum?)
  4. Forget to check on family/friends. (Who?)
  5. Forget to feed cat. (We have a cat?)
  6. Fail to pay bills or buy gas. (Why is the electricity off?)
  7. Get lost in research. (But a pirate needs his effects!)
  8. Stay up so late you can’t get up for work. (But the muse has a whip!)
  9. Forget to write a blog. (Sorry, Teatime. )
  10. Forget to call your kids. (Wait. I have kids?)

(High-pitched whistle alerts water is sizzling hot.) Time for more tea.

Writing is a joy unlike any other. In the pages of a book, readers travel to distant lands and indescribable imaginings. But it’s authors who trudge through those forests first. Authors, who hack away the bamboo, smell the sweat, dig the trenches, bear the pain—journey into the unknown, creating a roadmap for readers to follow.

It’s a fabulous adventure to be a writer. But oh, the sacrifices! The time spent on a stagnant butt, the bent knees, the aching shoulders and neck, the carpal tunnel, the hunched back… And yet, none of these are significant. None show in the pages of a book or on a booksigning author’s face. What shows is a love for the written word, characters that flavor the soul and stories that live on in every reader’s heart.

Cover of "Captive of My Desires"

At Teatime, we like to mention the five books we’d leave the house with, if our home was on fire.  My choices included: Hummingbird by LaVyrle Spencer, Yargo by Jacqueline Susann, Come Love a Stranger by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, Captive Embraces by Fern Michaels, and Captive of My Desires by Johanna Lindsey. Each one of these books has touched my heart in untold ways, so much so that the stories have stayed with me all these many years.

Deadlines. Favorite books. Authors. The main ingredient = readers.

While I’m on deadline, I’m keeping that in mind. If I play my cards right, and I hope I do, readers will beg for more. That would be quite a tasty bit of proof wouldn’t it?

Have you faced CRAZY WILD deadlines that kept you up at night?  How did you get through? Share your do’s and don’ts with me, won’t you?

10 thoughts on “The Proof Is In The Pudding!

  1. Reblogged this on Rogues, Rebels & Rakes and commented:

    I’ve got a deadline looming over my head this week. Have to have The Rogue’s Prize done by February 15th. I’m blogging at Teatime Romance today about my list of Do’s & Don’t’s when on deadline. It’s a hoot, but the proof is in the pudding, right?

  2. I remember very well my college days when I had crazy deadlines with studying for finals, and writing papers. I just tried to stay calm, and take it one step at a time. Playing music while I wrote or studied really helped too. Of course, many times, it was a hell of my own making as I procrastinated and had to pull an all nighter since I put it off till the last minute, lol.

  3. My dayjob just exploded with work AND I have a WIP deadline. To say it’s been challenging is at best a wildly inaccurate understatement. Sleep. Sleep would be good. So, how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. 😉 Honestly meditation and breathing are the big ones that help me through the crazy. Like Lisa said, stay calm.

    • Thanks for the compliment, Ella! Oh, I agree deadlines are a great motivator. It’s the down to the wire stuff, and so many deadlines in a row that are exhausting. I should have known 3 books coming out within 8 months = lots of work. 😉

  4. Hey, Katherine! You’re certainly an inspiration to us all and it’s wonderful how much you have accomplished. Hard work, definitely hard work.

Leave a Reply

