Love Is All You Need

Kimberly Truesdale_Author HeadshotHello everyone! I’m Kim.

First off, let me sincerely thank the authors of Teatime Romance for inviting me to join the blog family! I am honored and excited to be a part of such a wonderful and amazing group of writers and lovers of romance and, of course, tea.

They’ve asked me to introduce myself, so let me see… what’s interesting about me?

During the day, I masquerade as a writing and literature teacher, instructing students how to vary sentence structure and put together arguments or read poems and other literature they’re not really interested in. But my not-so-secret love is telling stories.

My Dear Sophy - ThumbnailI have previously self-published two novels. (I still can’t believe it!) The first one, My Dear Sophy, came out last July and is the story, a “prequel” to Jane Austen’s Persuasion. It’s the tale of how the Admiral and Mrs Croft first meet. And boy, do I love me some British sailors! I will soon be working on the next book in what I hope will be a series of their adventures. I want Sophy to be like a female Horatio Hornblower. After all, she does not want to be in calm waters all her days!

The Wrong Woman - ThumbnailMy second novel, which just came out last month, is a clean Regency romance (meaning no sex) called The Wrong Woman. The story centers on Isobel Masters, a plump heroine who thinks she’s on the shelf at the age of 29. Miles Shepherd, Baron of Revere and reluctant hero, is the one who has saddled her with a devastating and damaging nickname. The story is about forgiveness and finding true love in unexpected places. I also hope to work on the next story in this series very soon.

At the moment, I’m working on a short erotica story that I hope to have up on my own blog or here on Teatime Romance by the end of the month. It will be my first attempt at writing what I call “sexy sex”. You all will have to tell me how it goes…

In the meantime, as has become tradition here at TxR, I will take a gander at the six questions.

Why do you write romance?

I truly believe that all of life is romance. I fall in love with people and animals and sunrises and fictional characters at least 20 times a day! One of my favorite poster slogans from the ‘60s (I’m a hippie at heart) is “It’s world that makes the love go ‘round.” So I write romance to explore love of all kinds. Plus, I am a sucker for a happily ever after.

What was the first romance novel you ever read?

Does Anne of Green Gables count? L.M. Montgomery first made me fall in love with the romance of language, with nature, with Anne, and, of course, with a charming boy named Gilbert Blythe. (Fun fact: I actually had a stuffed animal puppy named “Gil.”) Anne and Gilbert are the first couple I can remember falling in love with myself. I voraciously read all of their stories. Anne still gets a read about once a year…

Your house is on fire. Which five romance novels do you grab on your way out?

My romance tastes tend toward the classics… so I will have to say Jane Austen’s Persuasion, Georgette Heyer’s Venetia, Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South, Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, and, since I’ll probably need to dive into a long and involved book, Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander (can I cheat and bring the whole series?).

What is your secret passion?

Well, thanks to Twitter, I’m pretty sure I don’t have ANY secrets anymore… but if I had to choose, I would say James Bond movies. I love the cars and gadgets. I love to watch him kick ass, even though I am a non-violent person in my own life. For me, James Bond is perfect escapism.

And tattoos. They are another passion of mine. I have eight at the moment, including a couple Beatles’ lyrics and a line from The Great Gatsby. So yeah, nerdy, hippie tattoos are definitely a passion 🙂

Is there anything in your book that comes from personal experience?

Well, if I’m going to give the author answer: everything in my books comes from personal experience! I live through the emotions of each of my characters. I have to be careful of writing certain scenes in public places as I’m liable to be a blubbering mess by the end. The things they think and feel are things that I’ve thought and felt. And though I’ve never been in Isobel’s place falling down the stairs at her debut ball like in The Wrong Woman, I’ve had the same kind of feeling of embarrassment and feeling like everyone is watching you.

But I know that’s not what you’re looking for, so hmm… The experience of being an older sister to two rambunctious and rowdy younger brothers, like Sophia Wentworth is to Frederick and Edward in my first novel, My Dear Sophy. That all comes STRAIGHT from my big sister experience.

I also honor my best friends with names in my book. My best girlfriends Meg and Vanessa got bit parts in My Dear Sophy and I named Isobel’s sister Catherine after my own dearest mother.

What is your favorite kind of tea, and how do you drink it?

I am a sucker for chai. In any form. Starbucks Iced Chai Latte is about to be my drink of choice as the summer weather moves in!

So… did you make it this far? Well done!

Here’s the payoff: leave a comment below telling me WHY YOU LOVE ROMANCE AND/OR TEA and I will enter you in a giveaway for an ebook copy (any format) of my new book, The Wrong Woman! Next Saturday, April 27, I will choose 2 random winners! 

19 thoughts on “Love Is All You Need

  1. Romance gives me the warm & fuzzies and the cup of tea is to calm me down after the warm & fuzzies get HOT!!

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  2. Welcome to the Tearoom, Kimberly. I, too, grew up on the classic historicals: Anne of Green Gables, Mary Poppins, Little House Books, Jane Austen, etc. I also majored in English but took a different track and ended up in information technology.

    After 32 years of marriage, hubby is against a tattoo so I havent’ gotten one. I heard it hurts and that’s a bit of a turnoff. LOL.

    We are so glad to have you here!

    Amy

  3. A warm and hearty welcome to the Tearoom, Kim! 🙂 SO great to have you here with us!!

    To quote Anne-we are totally kindred spirits! AoGG was one of my favorite books as a girl, and I still love it! And yes, I loved reading the progression of Anne and Gilbert’s relationship (Anne of the Island is a fav for that reason). I am still livid about that AoGG cover with Anne as a blonde. UNACCEPTABLE!

    And yes, I LOVE James Bond movies too! The question becomes, which Bond? Pierce Brosnan is the first one I saw (GoldenEye) so he’s my favorite. So suave and sophisticated. I also just love how he can go through any fight/chase sequence, and the Armani suit and hair is still perfect. I know it goes without saying, but there is also the matter of the amazing phenomenal Dame Judi Dench, who plays a kickass M. 🙂

    • Yay! More Anne fans! I’m about halfway through re-reading the whole series this year. And yes, that cover was absolutely hideous!

      Hmm…. I always loved Timothy Dalton because of the dark, edgy quality he brought to James Bond. But Pierce was Bond when I first got into the series, so I have a special place in my heart for him 🙂

      And what can I say about Judi Dench? I will watch her in ANYTHING. So sad she’s gone from the franchise, but how she left feels somehow appropriate and quite consequential for the upcoming movies!

  4. No need to enter me in the giveaway (though seriously, everyone else, The Wrong Woman is awesomesauce), but I love romance because sometimes I need the guarantee of a happily ever after.

  5. As a rare male lover of romance literature, it didn’t take much ‘persuasion’ for me to download a copy of The Wrong Woman onto my Kindle. Why? Because I was so taken with My Dear Sophy, one of the best-ever Jane Austen prequels ever. You go girl!!

  6. I love tea. I really do. It is like a cuddle in a cup, so comforting. If I had to give up wine or tea I’d have to give up wine, couldn’t be without my cuppa! I like a proper builders brew too, black tea, bit of milk and brewed strong, the colour of somebody with a bad spray tan!

    As for the romance. I love them. In real life sometimes bad things happen, life is unfair for some people and there is a lot of bad stuff that goes on in the world. So if I want a bit of escapism I’ll go for a romance with a happy ever after 🙂

    I love the Anne of Green Gables books too. I was given them when I was young, and as any child with red hair will tell you, the bit where she breaks the slate over Gilbert’s head is one of the most satisfying scenes you can ever read! L M Montgomery wrote some wonderful other books too, The Blue Castle is another of my favourites.

  7. I love romance as I have yet to experience a man’s love whom I would be willing to sacrifice my life for him. So while waiting for a real man to show up, I get to experience romance again and again imagining I am the heroine of each story that I read.

  8. I love romance as an escape and for the happily ever after. As far as tea goes, I am a Twinings snob. Their Pure White is my favorite, with Prince of Wales a very close second. No matter what flavor, I never put milk or sugar in my tea.

  9. Pingback: Read This Book: ‘Venetia’ by Georgette Heyer | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

