You Are Cordially Invited…to a Cover Reveal!

cover_reveal

If you had told me a year ago that I’d be recognizing one of my dreams–preparing for the release of my debut novel this December–I would have thought you were sweet, but a bit touched in the head. At that time, having anything publishable seemed like an elusive goal. One I was working toward, but still far away from fruition.

When I started to work on A Dangerous Invitation (originally dubbed Wicked by Midnight), I was aware that this was the type of unusual historical romance that would need a cover as gritty and suspenseful as the book itself. When I made the decision to self-publish the Rookery Rogues series (of which A Dangerous Invitation is book number one), I went immediately to Jenn LeBlanc’s Illustrated Romance stock site.

The week I made the decision, Isobel Carr and Delilah Marvelle were preparing for their shot with Jenn in Portland, Oregon. Isobel mentioned that I could get a request in for my cover to make sure that I had the proper feel for it. Two things were important to me: that I had both hero and heroine on the cover, and that the heroine held a flintlock pistol. Delilah provided the pistol–a replica of a pocket pistol used in the regency–and Jenn signed up two gorgeous models to bring my vision to life.

For my cover design, I worked with Rachel Rivera at Parajunkee Designs. Rachel has made a name for herself designing covers for paranormal works, but she was able to understand the darker feel I wanted for the cover. I absolutely recommend her, for not only is she brilliant at designing, but she’s patient and never once did she tell me after my fifty two changes that I was being a pest (though I’m sure I was!) Rachel also designs websites, and will be doing mine in January when I roll out the cover for the second Rookery Rogues novel.

She paired the stock photo from Jenn with a London back alley, and from there the cover was born.

Without further ado, I present to you…

Rookery_eBOOK_finalMED

December 14, 2013

Available at all online retailers

One fatal mistake cost Daniel O’Reilly the woman he loved, spiraling him toward drunken self-destruction. Now sober, he’ll have to prove he’s innocent of the murder he was accused of two years ago. But pistol-wielding Kate Morgan hasn’t forgiven his sins.

Torn from her privileged existence by her father’s death, Kate Morgan has carved out a new independent life in the Ratcliffe rookery as a fence for stolen goods. Daniel’s invitation to assist him jeopardizes her structured existence. Yet Kate can’t resist his touch, or the wicked desires he stirs within her.

As their renewed passions grow reckless, their investigation takes them through the darkest and most depraved areas of the City. To catch a killer, they’ll have to put secrets behind them and trust only their hearts.

So tell me, what do you think of the cover? I’ll be doing three more interviews this month: June 12th at What I’m Reading, June 15th at Romancing Rakes for the Love of Romance (Studio Smexy Saturdays), and June 25th at the Dashing Duchesses. Catch me there!

21 thoughts on “You Are Cordially Invited…to a Cover Reveal!

    • Absolutely! I totally understand wanting a physical book in your hands. The trade paperback copy should be available on December 14th with the e-book, if not, it will follow shortly after.

  1. Pingback: Historical Cover Design | Parajunkee Design

  2. Pingback: Happy (Belated) Birthday, Teatime Romance! | Teatime Romance

Leave a Reply

