Marni Bates Talks Invisible and the Qualities of the Perfect Guy-Plus GIVEAWAY!

I am so excited to welcome back Marni Bates to the Tearoom! Marni has joined us to talk about her upcoming release Invisible (which comes out June 25th), and to share some hot guy eye candy from Teen Wolf. You know, as you do. So sit back, enjoy, and take it away Marni!

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Romancing the Best Friend!

Hi everyone,

Well, I know this blog is meant for romance readers (*cough* romance-junkies-just-like-me! *cough*) so I thought I would share what I look for in a man. A fictional man. Y’know, like Scott Fraser, aka the dreamy-yet-super-frustrating photographer that keeps bugging studious Jane Smith in my new book, Invisible.

So I thought I would illustrate my points with these Teen Wolf pics.

Y’know, because it’s important research?

Okay, where to begin…

Attractive feature #1 ~ Intelligence

Let me put it this way: zombies and I have one thing in common–we’re both attracted to braaaiiiins!

Raising your hand in class? An excellent place to start!

 

Attractive feature #2 ~ Loyalty

It’s always good to know that you’ve got someone watching your back. That there is someone who believes in you and is willing to help out when life gets messy–regardless whether you’ve got a friendship or a relationship. In fact, a great test of character is how somebody treats their friends.

Nailed it!

Attractive feature #3 ~ Understands limitations.

Nobody wants to date someone who is too perfect! Or at very least, I wouldn’t! It’s always nice to be around someone who knows their limitations…

Attractive feature #4 ~ Plays to their strengths!

Nothing wrong with a little bit of sarcasm if you ask me. It adds some spice to life.

Attractive feature #5 ~ Opinionated

I happen to think being opinionated is a good thing–for both my male and female characters. I find it refreshing when people know what they believe in and what they enjoy doing. (Then again, I also find it attractive when people are willing to try new things!)

Attractive feature #6 ~ Willingness to compromise

*Grins*

Attractive feature #7 ~ An excellent smolder!

*Snickers* Although let’s be honest, there needs to be some kind of physical sizzle!

Attractive feature #8 ~ A little something extra…

There’s no way to really define that “little something extra” because it’s different for everyone. But in my opinion, there is nothing more wonderful than having someone embrace your quirks and eccentricities because they’re part of an awesome package deal. And maybe this should fall under the “opinionated” header, but I also prefer my heroes to be on the confrontational side. I like someone who isn’t afraid to call you out when they think you’re wrong and who isn’t afraid to push you towards your goals.

That  isn’t always comfortable for my heroines. In fact, a number of my heroines would prefer it if these boys would mind their own freaking business, thank you very much!

But it is a whole lot of fun for me!

 

So I’d love to hear what you look for in a leading man (or lady) for a chance to win a signed copy of Invisible and an ebook copy of Awkward!

 

Lots of love,

Marni

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Thanks so much Marni! I can’t wait for Invisible‘s release. And in case you need any more persuasion to buy the book, here’s the awesome book trailer Marni put together for Invisible.

As Marni said above, she is generously giving away a e-copy of Awkward (Nook or Kindle, winner’s choice) and a signed copy of Invisible. US ONLY.  So, tell us what you look for in a leading man or lady, and be entered in the giveaway! 

You can pre-order Invisible here at Amazon and B&N

Connect with Marni online via her

Website
Twitter
Facebook

13 thoughts on “Marni Bates Talks Invisible and the Qualities of the Perfect Guy-Plus GIVEAWAY!

  1. You know, Marni, every time I hear about you writing a book I have this picture in my head of you giggling through the entire thing as you’re writing it. Thank you so much for stopping by. We can’t wait to read Invisible (it’s one of my favorite tropes!).

  2. OMG! I didn’t read the post yet, but I saw the words “Teen Wolf” and I flipped out. I’m totes addicted to that show! Okay, okay… gonna scroll back up to read the post now XD (Sorry, just had to get that out of my system). Also, hello Marni!

  3. I have tears in my eyes. This post is just filled with awesome. First things first, I feel like I must squee with you re: Teen Wolf because just yes. What even am I saying? Sorry. But this was seriously me while going through this post: http://tinyurl.com/mjqhgws

    Anyway, to answer your question, I think you hit all the points. Intelligence is also at the top of my list (BTW, that scene had me grinning because, like the coach, I really thought he was going to ask to go to the restroom or something, but no, he totally kicked ass by not only raising his hand but also getting the answer correct. Yay for Scott, showing what he got! Hee!). Loyalty is also a must along with the other features you mentioned. I liked the point you made about knowing your limits, because I think that is a very important quality to have. I’m not into that whole cocky business some people have. Don’t get me wrong, I love a hero/heroine that is confident but please don’t be an ass about it. Hah. Oooooh, must add that I love a hero/heroine that isn’t afraid to take chances and be able to think outside the box.

    Personally, I would add being able to take charge when needed is an “attractive feature” as well. But of course there has to be that balance, where they can follow another. XD (Can you tell I have issues about making decisions? Haha, I’m all over the place). Oh, almost forgot! C r e a t i v i t y. Just yes to that in a hero/heroine. XD

    Haha, I didn’t mean to run-on. Sorry. Hee, just had too much fun. Thank you for the awesome post. BTW, I loved your video, and Invisible seems like such a fun read!

    (PS: I can’t help but smile whenever I see your smile!)

    PPS: I already have Awkward! (But wouldn’t mind winning Invisible XD)

    • As a person who really isn’t creative, I think it’d be really interesting to be with an artistic type and really get an idea of how they see the world. I tend to be more type A and can’t really go with the flow, lol.

      I agree-cockiness and arrogance are total turnoffs!

      I think you also bring up a great point about balance-knowing when to assert yourself, and knowing when to back off and compromise. It’s all about the happy medium. 😉

  4. Pingback: HOW I ONCE THOUGHT EVERYONE WOULD HEAR ABOUT MY NEW BOOK. | Marni Bates

  5. Hiya, Marni and everyone else. 🙂 Here via Lisa’s tweet, and I have to say, this Teen Wolf post could not have come at a better time, because I just started watching the show for best friend Carrie. Hurray for recognizing the characters! Hee.

    I love me a guy with a good sense of humor. I love to laugh, like to keep things light as much as possible, and I need someone who not only can make me laugh, but someone willing to laugh at life with me, because we all know just how much things go the way we want/need them to. 😉 Just, yes to smiles and laughs and the crinkle in their eyes. 😀 Of course, smart is *always* sexy, and a man with whom I can talk to about anything and everything? Very attractive quality, indeed. I just need someone who is able to communicate, and not necessarily with just words, because it’s in the little things they do too, the small gestures that show just how much they care for you. Smolder though, ugh, Derek’s image immediately flashed before my very eyes. 😀

    Just read the blurb for Invisible; I can’t wait to meet Jane and Scott!

    • Hi Diana! 🙂 *hugs*

      I so agree that a sense of humor is essential. Finding someone you can laugh with is so important. And YES to intelligence! I always say, “You may look pretty, but if I can’t have a decent conversation with you, what’s the point?”

      I could go for some smolder too. 😉

  6. Hi, Marni! Love the post…and the pictures. 😉

    For me, a sense of humor is a must. That is one of the things that I love about my husband–he ALWAYS makes me smile/laugh. I would say that street smarts/intelligence is also a must.

    • Hi Andrea! 🙂 *hugs* Thanks for coming by and commenting. I think we have a pretty strong consensus here that a sense of humor is important in a leading man! And I think you have a great point about street smarts/common sense. Being a brilliant physicist is great, but that doesn’t help if you’re stranded on the highway and don’t know how to change a tire, lol.

Leave a Reply

