Sexy Voice Saturday

This post is going to require some audience participation. But it won’t be difficult, I  promise.

I want you to think of THAT VOICE.

You know the one (or ones). We all have them. Those voices, male or female, that make shivers run up and down our spines. Those ones about which we declare, “I would listen to him/her read the phonebook!” The ones we imagine our heroes and heroines in books have. I’m currently working on a hero and I’m deciding what accent he will have. To me, this is a very important part of the process and demands A LOT of research… i.e. a lot of YouTube clips and movies showcasing some of the sexiest accents.

I’m partial to Northern English accents (think Sean Bean and Richard Armitage) and Irish accents (think Colin Farrell). And Kathleen Turner’s sultry voice (Jessica Rabbit, y’all) makes me jealous.

So, of course, a post about sexy voices needs some examples for your delectation, right? Below are some of my favorites, but I expect the comments section to be FULL of your favorites soon. 😉

Like this clip where Richard Armitage and some other sexy dwarves sing… (I’m a SUCKER for a baritone.)

Or Sean Bean reciting a poem…

Or a conversation between Irishmen Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson…

So what about you? What voices make you shiver? I expect a lot of examples in the comments!

20 thoughts on “Sexy Voice Saturday

  1. Tom Hiddleston and Benedict Cumberbatch. I’d listen to them read the same word back and forth to each other for the rest of eternity.

  2. Oh I love this post Kim! I had an history professor in college with a dreamy British accent, and a poli sci professor with an Irish accent that was to die for.

    Someone with a voice that does it for me? Jeremy Northam! Swoon.

    I rest my case. 😉

  3. So I asked The Sainted Mother-in-Law her opinion to see how far off we were from each other’s choices (what with her being in a different generation and all) and then I asked a couple of ladies at the farmer’s market this morning, and you know what? We all had the same number one pick: Sam Elliot.

  4. This is a wonderful way to start a Saturday! I heartily second your choices, especially Richard Armitage, and raise you one Benedict Cumberbatch (a two-fer, as he does a wicked Alan Rickman, another sexy voice), one Matthew Macfadyen, and one Yank named Gregory Peck.


  5. Oh, Kim, you’ve found my weakness! I had just managed to get the Misty Mountain song out of my head, and now it’s back (not that I’m complaining!). Did you know Richard Armitage also has narrated audiobooks? Three of them by Georgette Heyer, so you can get your baritone fix in a Regency setting 😀

    http://coraleeauthor.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/friday-favorite-richard-armitage-reads-georgette-heyer/

    Hmmm, I suddenly find myself wanting to watch North & South…again…

  6. Rossano Brazzi, who my college Italian professor didn’t resemble at all. Nope, not even a little bit. (Except he did. He say totally did. His name was Marco. Say it with me, roll that r, and just try not to shiver.)

    Yup, that’s the stuff.

  7. You know, a fellow Twitter friend, writer, and retired military man, Alan, made three really good suggestions in Twitter comments that I’m going to share here.

    His number one link to me Rick Astley. Sorry, no, he’s not rick-rolling anyone. Astley does have an amazing voice.

    And how could we not add Barry White to this list for his voice?

    His final suggestion? Luther Vandross… “Lord, how I love soul.” Amen.

Leave a Reply

